Vase Painting

I stopped into Goodwill the other day and picked up a few of these beauties from the glass department.

DSC_0238

I think it was about $3 or $4 for all four jars. This chic, feather-patterned guy is my favorite.

DSC_0241

The intention was to follow this tutorial on how to make some fancy/modern decorations at home for cheap. I’m thrifty like that. I used paint we had in the basement and also picked up a $3 sample pot of Behr’s paint at Home Depot.

DSC_0243

Basically, you pour the paint down the INSIDE wall of the jars and rotate them (mouth of the vase up!) until the inside is completely covered. Then you can flip them mouth-side-down onto old newspaper. They take a while to dry, but I’m loving the result!

DSC_0253

They are not quite as “pastel” in person, that’s probably a camera flaw. I’ve already set them on display on my little accent table of the living room. I’m constantly futzing over what should sit on that thing. It changes weekly. And I’m actually thinking of sanding the drawers down and painting them white for a little pop of brightness in that little corner.

DSC_0264

Oh yeah, I finished one of my designs! It’s a personalized family print. Here’s a closer shot:

DSC_0265

It makes me happy… Any paint-related projects going on out there in the world? Tell me about them! Or link to them! I’d love to see your DIY projects.

Leave a Reply

